The ELCT at a Glance

For diocese information, click here.


The Presiding Bishop or “Mkuu” is elected for a four-year term from amongst the Bishops of the dioceses.

Decision Making Bodies

The General Assembly of the Church meets every four years. An Executive Council consisting of

  • diocese Bishops
  • diocese Secretaries General
  • directors of Church institutions
Meet three times each year, while an Executive Committee meets more frequently.

The Head Office
The role of the ELCT Head Office is capacity building, advocacy, cordination, facilitation and church identity for the entire Church. There are atleast 95 employees including supporting staff.

Under the new organisational structure that became effective in July 1998 there are four departments answerable to the Secretary General. The Secretary General’s Office has the Advocacy, Democracy and Communication Desks. Auditor General is advisor to the Executive Council. The four Departments are as follows:

Audit Division (click here for Set Up and Structure documents)

  • Mission and Evangelism
  • Finance and Administration
  • Planning and Development
  • Social Services and Women's Work.

Organizational Chart
The ELCT has several institutions serving the entire church and its units. These are:
  • The Lutheran Junior Seminary in Morogoro a secondary school up to form six; a Leadership Training department; language and Orientation course; a Production Farm and Kindergarten/Nursery School.
  • Radio Voice of Gospel, shortwave and FM, in Moshi.

  • Primary Schools for deaf children in Mwanga and Njombe.

  • Lutheran Teachers Training College in Mbeya.

  • The New Safari Hotel based in Arusha is one of the major investments-cum-income generating schemes commonly owned by the Church.

  • Tumaini University, the national univeristy of the ELCT..