Tumaini University

Tumaini University Makumira (TUMA) was founded by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania (ELCT) in 1996 under the name: Tumaini University. The establishment of the University follows the decision of the government of Tanzania to liberalize the education sector and subsequent enactment of the Education (Amendment) Act No. 10 of 1995. The University is recognized by the Higher Education Accreditation Council.

The campus of the then Lutheran Theological College Makumira (LTCM) has now become the main campus of Tumaini University Makumira. For further information visit: http://www.makumira.ac.tz/.


The mission of the university is to engage its faculties and students in studies of higher learning committed to the pursuit of truth through scientific research and inquiries. Its main objective is to promote higher education in its broadest sense delving into fact-finding under the guidance of and in obedience to the Word of God.

University Structure

As of January 2013 the new structure and administration of the University became as follows:

Iringa University College from 25 October 2013 became a fully fledged University under a new name: Iringa University of Iringa.

Kilimanjaro Christian Medical College is in the process of becoming an independent university.

Sebastian Kolowa University College became autonomous under a new name: Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University (SEKOMU) as of October 2012.


The university administrative headquarters are located on the outskirts of the northern Tanzania town of Arusha.

For further information contact:


P.0. BOX 55
Usa River, ARUSHA, Tanzania
Telephone: +255-272 541 034
Telephone: +255-272 541 036
Telephone: +255-272 541 144
Telephone: +255-272 541 146
Fax: +255-272 541 148
Fax: +255-272 541 030
E-mail: vc
http://www. makumira.ac.tz

Bishop Dr. Fredrick Onael Shoo
He is also the Presiding Bishop of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania.

Vice Chancellor
Rev. Prof. Joseph. W. Parsalaw

On August 5, 2011, Professor Joseph Parsalaw took over the leadership of the university, replacing Professor John Shao as Vice Chancellor at a ceremony held at Makumira.